What Facebook's Crackdown on Preview Editing Means for Recruitment Marketing

  • By Magdalen Marketing
  • 18 Oct, 2017

Facebook, unlike other social media websites, is beginning to crackdown on ‘fake news’ and promote honest journalism instead.

Unless you’ve been living in North Korea, you’ll know that fake news is a type of yellow journalism whereby deliberate misinformation is broadcasted as news and spread in various formats e.g. traditional methods or online social media.

What does this mean for recruitment marketing?

Recent changes to Facebook’s permissions have meant that users are no longer able to modify content on link previews.

Until now, when you posted a link you could change the headline, body text and image that appeared in the news feed preview. This allowed readers to be fooled into thinking they were clicking on an article with entirely different content.

However, for us marketers, it was a way of making posts more attractive. With no ability to change the look and feel of posts, branding may go out the window.

Facebook is the world’s most popular social media platform. Despite LinkedIn ranking top for recruitment, Facebook has increasingly added professional information and is rumoured to be launching a rival to LinkedIn in the future - so it’s important to get ahead of the curve now.

Here’s what you can do to get the most out of your company's Facebook page:

Use the right images on your site

To keep up with these changes, we can advise that recruitment marketers ensure that the right images are always tagged to the right pages. Having the right image tagged in the metadata ensures that the correct image appears in the link preview.

This helps with branding and avoids confusion, so viewers won’t be met with the wrong information - just like the Oscars best picture blunder earlier this year.

Make the most of the meta

Metadata on the site needs to be posted to perfection. As Facebook has removed user’s ability to customise link preview information, such as titles, it’s important to get it right on the back end of your website.

It’s imperative that you have clear titles on pages such as job posts to ensure you get the most out of your update. A typical job post header should include job title, location and sector - along with your organisation’s name.

Metadata can easily be updated on any website editor. Whilst this is only a slight change to resolve a massive issue, it is most definitely a step in the right direction to combat Facebook’s fight against fake news.

If we, as recruitment marketers, get ahead of the game and educate ourselves on privacy changes now, it will help us in the future when other social platforms such as Twitter and LinkedIn join Facebook’s privacy changes.

Additionally, it keeps your Facebook profile looking professional and attractive to candidates and clients.

Most importantly, it’s an addition to the European and Global drive to increase protection of consumers’ data. This is in line with the preparations for May 2018, when the new  GDPR  regulations come into place.

What are your thoughts? Leave a comment below and let us know!


By Olivia Unsworth
Digital Marketing Assistant, Magdalen Marketing Agency (MMA)

li. olivia.unsworth

sb.  01865 688 777
dd.  01865 340 737

By Magdalen Marketing 11 Jan, 2018

What is Google for Jobs?

Google for Jobs was launched in the US in June 2017 and is rumoured to be launching in the UK imminently. Google for Jobs is a new search engine powered by Google which aims to ease the search process for candidates. In order to do this, Google has partnered with recruitment giants like Careerbuilder, Monster, LinkedIn, Glassdoor and many more. As a result, Google has provided a streamlined job search engine that sorts and collects job listings from all over the web.

How do candidates use Google for Jobs?

Google for Jobs is incredibly intuitive, enabling candidates to search for a job directly from Google search. Candidates simply launch the search engine and type in the job they are seeking and Google will give return a list of results. Candidates can even filter search by adding location, job title, type of job (full time, part time etc) and company type as well as stating a specific employer. A box labelled “Jobs” will appear with a few of the top listings in their area and from here candidates are able to view the full job search page. Simple!

Another feature of Google for Jobs is that candidates can access salary information, even if the listing doesn't contain this information. If salary is not included, Google for Jobs will include data on a typical salary for that kind of job, based on information compiled by Glassdoor, LinkedIn, and other sites. At the bottom of each job listing, candidates can see more information compiled by Google such as the company’s rating and a link to the company’s website.

Google for Jobs will also show candidates all of the job boards that have the specified job listing they searched for, so candidates can choose which job board or website to apply through. This is especially useful if they already have a account for their preferred job board site. Furthermore, candidates can bookmark any job listing, enabling easy access to these later through clicking on the "Saved Jobs" tab on Google.

What does this mean for employers?

The major benefit to employers is having a prominent place in search results. By featuring company logo, reviews, ratings, and job details, potential employees are given all the information they need in one search. Candidates can filter by various criteria such as location or job title, meaning employers are more likely to get applicants who are looking exactly for that job.

Using Google for Jobs may also increase employers’ chances of discovery and conversion as candidates will have a new avenue to interact with job postings and click through to company websites.

What does it mean for other job sites?

Many job sites have already partnered with Google for Jobs , and are likely to see a significant increase in traffic, which is why the US have been so eager to jump aboard the Google recruitment train. Indeed.com is undoubtedly the main player who has chosen not to partner. Indeed.com has a comprehensive SEO strategy in place which, combined with a its stellar reputation, should help it resist Google’s planned changes - at least in the short-term.

What does it mean for recruiters?

Due to the earlier release of Google for Jobs in the US, recruiters in the UK will already have a slight head start to find out what Google for Jobs will mean for them. When Google for Jobs does come to the UK, the one thing we have learnt is that Schema formatting will be crucial.

Of course, recruiters should optimise their job postings in order to gain more impressions, clicks and to ensure they stand out from competition. However, to do this, recruiters will also have to change to Schema (a way to embed structured data on web pages to enable the use of search engines) formatting, which many are still yet to do. If you would like to find out more about Schema formatting, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Summary

By posting listings for specific jobs across many platforms, Google for Jobs should in theory provide a better service for job searchers, and have a very positive effect on the recruitment market as a whole. It may take a while for Indeed.com to lose traffic, but as more users catch on, Google for Jobs could easily stake its claim to Indeed.com’s throne. While recent events show Google is far from unstoppable, it is incredibly powerful – and the future doesn’t look good for any companies in the job market that try to ignore it.


By Magdalen Marketing 08 Jan, 2018

Grim grim grim grim grim grim grim:

https://youtu.be/NLea-g1i8P4

The Renault Kadjar adverts have all been vomit-inducing, and no amount of egg from This Life / The Walking Dead on the voiceover is going to save it.

This instalment does not disappoint, just as the weird cinema on the clifftop last time didn’t.

This time, in a totally unrelated story featuring said Kadjar, a couple are going through a divorce but decide to have an affair during the legal proceedings because of the car and a coastal property they own (the advert is officially called Beach House, but a beach house to me means a shed built on the pebbles at Southend-on-Sea, not the palatial mansion featured here).

What makes this advert so bad for me is that they are either with new people now - the ones that have precipitated the divorce, or they will still separate anyway. It wouldn’t be so bad if they were just going through a rough patch and the Kadjar saved the day (as if), but a fully fledged conscious uncoupling is just a bit too much for what is supposedly a family vehicle.

I think whoever commissioned this dross really needs to have a good long look at themselves in the mirror.


By Thomas Bridge, Head of Hot Beverage Production
By Magdalen Marketing 05 Jan, 2018

I LOVE this advert:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyaU64Ofb54

I love it for the following reasons:

It has absolutely nailed what dogs are. 

This advert is the best portrayal I have ever seen of a (talking) dog. Essentially, all the dog has is curiosity and unconditional love, and these are the only things on display. The great thing about the curiosity is that regardless of the answer, there are no follow up questions - knowing what his master is up to is answer enough. You get the feeling that to every answer of the question, he will reply with the same answer - OK, love you!

It’s about a really boring product. 

Checking your credit score is like buying piles cream, no one ever does it because things are all rosy. Instead, you only do it when the shit has hit the fan. As a direct consequence, most private part prescriptions play on this with an atmosphere of fear and loathing, as do most credit scoring adverts. So hats off to ClearScore (and their marketing agency) for being brave, thinking outside the box and not subjecting us to crap adverts in between our favourite programmes. You have the whole UK TV audience to talk to, so why not be brave and try something different and amazing.

There’s a good joke in there about relationships. 

I think you have to be a dog owner to truly appreciate it (I am not yet, but I want one that will become our MMA office dog). Essentially, the man tells the dog he loves him too, and the wife replies saying she loves the man. The man is oblivious to what she means.

In summary, this advert has nothing to do with credit scores and is all about man’s relationship with dogs. It’s funny and heartwarming, and means that if ever I did want a credit scoring services, I would google ClearScore as a thanks for not making a bad advert. ClearScore should be applauded for realising that their product is dull, and that their best way of selling it is to focus on something else entirely.

By Thomas Bridge, Head of Hot Beverage Production


By Magdalen Marketing 03 Jan, 2018

Packed shops, an infinity of untangling bloody fairy lights, ears pounded by a merciless Michael Bublé on loop… Thank heavens Christmas is done and dusted for approximately another 350 days. (Although it’s only about 300 until Bublé creeps back onto PA systems in early November with his Xmas yuck.)

The season of goodwill really is more like the season of stress and divorce, and there’s nothing like bad grammar to really tip me over the edge. Year in year out, I hear the same mistake over and over while unwrapping presents:

“Oh wow thanks...you shouldn’t of!”

...

Shouldn’t of.

Shouldn’t OF.

Shouldn’t OF!!!

No no no no no no no no no noooooo.

No, please don’t say that. And no, I shouldn’t HAVE bought you the £20 body butter kit because all you deserve is coal for speaking that language!

(Please note that what I actually say to the receiver is “You’re welcome”, cue humble smile.)

So why can’t we say shouldn’t of? It does sound an awful lot like shouldn’t have, but there are some rudimentary grammar rules at play here.


Modal verbs

Should is a modal verb, and so is can, could, may, might, must, shall, will and would. Modal verbs have no standalone meaning and therefore must be paired with non-modal verbs. For example:

  • I could buy you a present.
  • You should say thank you.

When we use modals for the past tense, they are followed by have + past participle. For example:

  • She might have gone to the pub.
  • I may have drunk too much last night.

Even though it can sound like we are saying the preposition “of” instead of the verb “have”, it would actually make no sense to have modal verb + preposition as it wouldn’t form a grammatical structure.

“Shouldn’t of” is only one of many misspoken and misspelled words and phrases: check the list to see which you may be guilty of.


More mistaken phrases:

  • alot (correct: a lot)
  • alright (correct: all right)
  • brung (correct: brought)
  • irregardless (correct: regardless)
  • preventative (correct: preventive)
  • thankyou (correct: thank you)

Although these are technically incorrect, some argue that they are becoming accepted variations. Even so, they are best left out of work and formal communication to avoid looking sloppy.


From the grammar corner, I wish you all a happy and healthy 2018. Massive congrats on surviving the holidays, and even if all your other new year’s resolutions have fallen at the first hurdle, be sure to keep up the good grammar. Detoxes are too hard and six-packs are overrated anyway. 

Lots of love,

Sabina (aka Girl in da Corner) 

x

P.S. Sincerest apologies for the omission of Grammar Corner from the last Contender issue. As I live in Australia, I was away on holiday at the beach. I won’t lie, it was 35 degrees and I now have a magnificent tan. Sorry UK residents (but not sorry).

By Magdalen Marketing 03 Jan, 2018
April 2017
The one that started it all off, rarer than a Batman number 5. April 2017 saw the first ever issue of  Contender. In this issue we introduced the team, shared a copywriting case study and addressed the importance of content. Click  here to see what you missed.
Click here to read our first ever issue >>

May 2017
The May issues is here ! The awkward second album, we pulled it off with our usual mix of amazingness and humility. May saw the second issue of  Contender, where we discussed newsletters, elections and parties.
May the force be with you, click here  to read >>

June 2017
Missed June's newsletter? Fear not, you still have time, click here . Three was most definitely the magic number in June, where we talked about databases, apps and lots of alcohol.
Click here to see what you missed >>

July 201 7
Catch up with July's Contender right here . You know you want to. In this issue we introduced you to our new starters Phil and Rhi, we also brought to you a case study on our email marketing and looked at the best and worst ads of the month!
Click to find out what went on in June >>

August 2017
Oops, we missed this one - go to Septembers to find out why.

September 2017
Did you miss this one? Fear not, click here , you silly sausage. In this issue, we introduced you to Rik, tackled the great dishwasher debate and discussed GDPR.
Click here to read September's issue >>

October 2017
If you missed this Contender, we've got you covered, click here . In this issue, we explored Facebook's recent privacy changes, learnt about passive sentences and showed you what good recruitment social media marketing looks like.
Click here to  see what went down in October >>

November 2017
Ooh! Err! November Contender is here . Featuring Genesis, a Linkedin company page guide, how to use apostrophes, and a pregnant friend of MMA feeding soon to be junior pink wafers and party rings.
Click here to remind yourself of our November issue >>

December 2017
Welcome to the most convoluted email Christmas card ever - which also neatly doubles as the Christmas 2017 edition of Contender. Click here to view. Contender is the monthly newsletter from recruitment-specialist Magdalen Marketing Agency (MMA), covering all things recruitment marketing (kind of).
The final issue of the year! Click here to see what you missed >>







By Magdalen Marketing 02 Jan, 2018

Saskia has joined as a Marketing Executive to work in the Communications Team, affectionately known as HMS Battle inside chez MMA - seeing as it’s headed up by Commander in Chief,  Chelsea Battle . As part of the crew, Saskia will support Chelsea deliver ongoing marketing services to our existing clients.

Saskia joins from Imperial Brands in Bristol, where she worked within the HR Transformation team. As part of her role, she delivered internal comms such as employee portal notifications and portal content globally. She is now looking forward to embracing a career change by entering the warm light of the marketing world full time.

Saskia graduated from Bournemouth University with a degree in Business Studies with Operations and Project Management. During her time at university she undertook a placement year at Vauxhall Motors working as an HR Advisor, where she delivered the monthly newsletter at Vauxhall for warehouse staff.

Saskia grew up in Oxfordshire and went to school at Our Lady’s Abingdon, so she is looking forward to being back in the area.

Outside of work Saskia enjoys staying active with activities such as cycling, running and dog walks with her chocolate Labrador, Enya.


By Magdalen Marketing 19 Dec, 2017

In the run up to Christmas, MMA have been busy analysing 2018 business plans in order to create supporting marketing plans accordingly - with a big push in January as you’d expect.

But with those with a few minutes to spare, I just wanted to take a quick look back at 2017 and give a short overview of our year, and say a few words of thanks to the people who’ve supported us in our short journey so far.

As you might know, I set MMA up 15 months ago in October 2016. For the first three months it was just me emailing, working and networking. Jordan Mori, Founder of Hensen Associates was our first client and he recommended us to our second, Adeel Nadeem of Softweb Resourcing. Conor O’Callaghan of Millar Cameron booked to come on board in January 2017, along with Angela Hickmore of Norman Broadbent Interim.

Without these four people taking a risk on us, the business would not be where it is today, and I will forever be eternally grateful.

With more potential clients coming down the line, I took the lease on an office in Oxfordshire and hired our first perm member of staff (Ed) in February 2017, a second in March (The Mighty Pegler) and a third in April (Chelsea Battle). Quite simply, I got lucky with my first three hires and it is the hard graft of these three exceptional people that gave us the base from which to grow.

Since then, we’ve hired five more permies and built a bank of part timers (parties?), such as Raquel Fernandes (Brand & Logo), Chris Bradshaw (Video Editing), Rob Jessell (PR), Sabina Bridge - aka my sister (Australia) and Shena Searle - aka my mum (Data Cleansing). Each has produced fantastic work outside of our in-house offering this year.

During this time, we’ve worked with almost 50 recruitment businesses, mainly on a retained monthly basis. I’ve listed people at each below and I’d like to send my heartfelt thanks to each of you for believing in us. We’re not perfect but we always try our best and strive to improve at all times.

A good example of this imperfection is that we’ve lost clients this year, which I realise isn’t something many recruiters or marketing agencies talk about. For us, I think we tried to be everything to everyone at the start, which was vital to grow. As we got bigger and more experienced, it became clear that some of our offerings were simply not fit for purpose - ie we should have turned down the work. No one likes a break up but we’ve tried to remain good friends with these companies, still inviting them to events, best practice groups etc.

Another good example is that we lost two members of the wave of five we hired. Both were lovely but decided that this kind of marketing wasn’t for them, which we fully respected. It is a tough sector and it can be manic, but just as we can’t be everything to every client, we can’t be everything to every employee. Similarly, we’ve tried to put processes in place to ensure we don’t give false starts to people in future, such as psychological testing, certain types of degrees and hobbies to keep a look out for.

We are about to hire their replacements based on these parameters, which we learned from the remaining three from the second wave of five who have each excelled since they joined. Phil Nyatanga, Enrikas Kvietinskas and Rhiannon Davies joined to do PPC, Web Development and Communications / Social Media respectively, and have given an identity to the business in their c6 months. The latter showed me first hand not to judge a candidate by the interview alone, and why all available methods of measurement are so crucial to recruitment.

As we go into 2018, we have several new clients coming on board from December 2017 / January 2018 so the hard work shows no sign of letting up, albeit we want to work smarter so that the late nights stop! One thing we have learned is that each hire gets easier than the last. Similarly, each month gets better to manage as we build upon our portfolio of knowledge and experience.

So as we approach Christmas, MMA would just like to say thank you to the people below as well as the people above, and also offer our gratitude to anyone else that has come into contact with us this year.

Best wishes,

Tom


Ali Wallace

Amy Witchalls

Andrew Fairnington

Andrew Nicholas

Andrew MaCaskill

Andy Styles

Bev Battle (the first)

Charlie Griffiths

Colin Slight

Chris Bernard

Cyrus Amini

Ed Steele (my first passion is music!)

Gerard Crespi

Jacqui Pinnell

James Wyman

Jasmine Stirling

Jamie Homer

Jayne Morris

Jo Hodge

Jon Martin

Kariel Parian

Kerry Simmons

Lisa Hon

Martin Seitler

Megan Thomas

Minesh Ghelani

Mike Brennan

Nicky Refson

Nousheen Bangee

Nubia Coleman (matchmaker)

Oyinda Bishi

Paul Darby

Rob Pickering

Robin Longes

Ru Jupp

Ryan Dawson (best company mascot EVER)

Sarah Wallace

Sarah Warren

Spencer Corin

Suki Sandhu

Tom Bronock

Tom De Freitas

Tracey George

By Magdalen Marketing 15 Nov, 2017

Twitter has finally decided to up the 140 character limit on their tweets, in an attempt to give users the ability to express themselves without restriction. However, for some, this change takes away the true essence of Twitter as a quick broadcasting platform.

For those wondering whether their timelines will overflow with long tweets, fear not! Twitter trialled the change in September and found that only a mere 5% of tweets sent exceeded 140 characters and just 2% went over 190 characters.

There have been many times where we've have had to entirely rewrite, reword or even delete a tweet because the 140 character limit created a barrier. This was especially difficult when including website links - which were needed in nearly every Tweet.

The new character limit is music to our ears - and the best thing since images were removed from the character limit, earlier last year.

It’s important that each tweet links back to a page on your website so that job applications are received and blogs are read. Directing more people to your site increases traffic and ultimately increases SEO. This is all now a lot easier, thanks to Twitter’s update.

When put into practice, it will now be a lot easier to promote the latest roles by sharing a job card, linking to the site and including a description of the role. The trial indicated that users with the ability to tweet up to 280 characters received significantly increased engagement; likes, retweets and mentions - signalling that more information will generate a better response.

To be frank, this is the news we have been waiting for. We can now share the latest roles, news and updates without the character restriction, whilst maintaining the brevity Twitter is known for.

All we need now is to be able to edit our tweets once posted!

For the news, thoughts and opinions from Magdalen Marketing, please take a look at our insight page .

By Olivia Unsworth
Digital Marketing Assistant, Magdalen Marketing Agency (MMA)

li. olivia.unsworth

By Magdalen Marketing 15 Nov, 2017

LinkedIn is a great way to direct traffic to your website, expand the profile of your brand and reach key connections in your industries. But why LinkedIn? Active candidates are checking the platform on a regular basis, so it’s important to establish a strong presence and connect with them.

There’s often the temptation to buy followers as it’s quick and easy, but we strongly advise against this. All it achieves is an increased number of superficial followers; making your page appear popular but in reality engagements are low and you are not reaching anyone of any importance to your brand. The only thing worse than low followers, is high followers with zero interaction. Unless you can get access to those  Russian bots  - although we think they’re busy with a big project in the US.  

There are many effective steps that can be taken to ensure you’re doing your best to attract new users. Here are our top three tips to maximise your efforts:

1. Update regularly

First things first, you need to ensure that your page is posting relevant and compelling content for your target audience. It goes without saying, users will follow pages that can offer them interesting and insightful updates.

Ultimately, using LinkedIn to effectively draw traffic to your website involves posting updates that link directly to your site. Producing ongoing content that can be shared - such as blogs, case studies, and interviews is a key element to this.

Consider how your posts look to someone scrolling the newsfeed - initial appearance may be as important as the content itself, as people need to click on it before they are met with the article. Because of this, it’s important to select eye-catching images and videos that capture the audience. Our experience has shown this to generate more interaction than generic stock images.

2. Link back to LinkedIn

Promote your page outside of LinkedIn. Include links on all communications, directing your audience to the page. Don’t forget your other channels; you can draw attention from your website, mailers and newsletters too!

3. Engage your employees

Personal profiles often have much more interactions than company pages - and most businesses are failing to take advantage of this.

It is imperative that your workforce direct traffic towards the company’s page as well as their own profiles. Start by making sure all email signatures and personal profiles include hyperlinks to the company page.

This is often the area most companies are falling down on: ensure that all members of staff actively engage with company posts. This increases the potential audience for updates massively. We cannot stress this enough. Everyone in your company from the CEO to your receptionists should be liking and commenting on updates. It takes two seconds and makes a big difference to the impressions and reach that posts have.

We hope that you bear these tips in mind and can implement them into drawing more attention to your company’s LinkedIn. For more tips from our team  click here .


By Jantima Merola

Content Manager, Magdalen Marketing Agency (MMA)

li. jantima.merola

By Magdalen Marketing 15 Nov, 2017

1.  Sainsbury’s -  Every bit of Christmas

This year, Sainsbury’s ditched a blockbuster approach and opted for a sing-along ad. This refreshing style included real people and even Sainsbury's employees!

The advert is set in black and white, with bursts of the Sainsbury’s orange appearing. Lyrics appear along the bottom of the screen, prompted in karaoke style by a brussel sprout, encouraging viewers to sign along to their original song . There are also cameos from Kermit the Frog and actor Ricky Tomlinson. 

It’s a feel good, jolly advert that can’t help put a smile on your face. That’s why we have crowned it as the best Christmas advert of 2017!

Watch it here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WU50dLLy7Cw

2.  Waitrose - Christmas Together

This year’s Waitrose advert is quintessentially British and champions community spirit. Also opting for a cast that reflects regular consumers, the advert features a group of people who become stranded in a countryside pub after heavy snowfall.

Stuck in the pub, the group come together to cook a Christmas meal by candlelight - with the help of a Waitrose cookbook. The food is prepared with the classic sound of Mykola Leontovych's Carol of the Bells building excitement as the narrative progresses.  

The group are eventually rescued, just as food is served. But they’d rather stay for dinner, so the search party join the feast. It’s an adorable tale of community spirit, that brings a group of strangers together  over good food - isn’t that what Christmas is about? Well done Waitrose.

Watch it here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJZbo5ohVGs

3.  Aldi - Kevin the Carrot

Kevin the carrot is back! And he’s cuter than ever.

This year, Kevin (an adorable animated carrot) makes his way through a full dinner table/obstacle course - to reach his love interest… you’ve guessed it, a female carrot!

A magical Christmas tune, paired with an adorable animation and a love story makes for a good advert. There’s even a funny one liner at the end. This advert comes as the second part of Kevin’s adventures, as  last Christmas  he snuck onto Santa’s sleigh.

It’s adorable, amusing and reminds us that Aldi sell good food. Well done!

Watch it here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJQG2lqm5ek

By Chelsea Battle
Head of eMarketing, Magdalen Marketing Agency (MMA)

li. chelsea.battle

sb. 01865  688 777
dd. 01865 340 737
More Posts
Share by: